But I modified it based on what I had on hand. For one, I doubled it and used a 9×13 pan. And I used ONLY whole wheat flour, because I was already mixing the ingredients when I realized that the white flour was gone– DOH! I was afraid it would be dense/gluey, but it was NOT– the texture was fantastic! I also added a bunch more apples (maybe an extra half- to three-quarters of a cup) and was very generous with the cinnamon and the baking soda (I don’t measure most things… I just eyeball it, but I know it was more than the recipe called for). Oh, and I didn’t have any walnuts, so I didn’t use them. I brought them to work today, and my coworkers inhaled them. Seriously, they were SO good! And with all that in mind, I will C&P the original recipe below. Enjoy!!

Ingredients
1/2 cup melted butter
1 cup white sugar
1 egg
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 cup apples – peeled, cored and finely diced (mine were pretty coarse, actually)
1 cup chopped walnuts

Directions
1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour 8×8 inch baking pan.
2.In a large bowl, mix melted butter with sugar and egg. Mix in flour, baking soda, and cinnamon, and then stir in apple and walnuts. Spread batter into prepared pan.
3.Bake for approximately 40 minutes, or until a small knife inserted in the center comes out clean. (it was slightly less for me… like 35 minutes)

