use a can of campbell’s cheddar cheese soup instead of the cream of mushroom. I have added a can of Hormel’s chili w/o beans to the casserole and it was really good.
Brown and drain the ground beef,add the cheese and the chili,top with the tater tots and bake about 40 minutes. Somethimes I add some shredded cheddar cheese the in last 10 minutes.
Tater Tot Casserole
A full meal that’s easy on time and the pocketbook with ground beef, corn, and tomato soup.
Ingredients

1 lb. ground beef
1 onion
½ tsp. salt
1 (10 ½ oz.) can tomato soup
1 Tbs. chili powder
1 (16 oz.) can whole kernel corn
1 lb. frozen tater tots
Shredded cheese, optional

Directions

Brown ground beef and onion in skillet. Add salt, soup and chili powder. Pour into a 13 x 9 x 2 inch casserole dish and later with corn and tater tots. Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. Cheese can be sprinkled on top just before taking out of the oven, if desired.
1st layer – ground beef browned with onion
2nd layer – canned Mexic-corn (corn with peppers
3rd layer – canned chili with beans
4th layer – shredded cheese
5th layer – tater tots

I’d cover with foil, bake at 350F for 40 minutes remove the cover and bake another 20 minutes to brown the tots.
I can see why you could make ahead and freeze or refrigerate till baking. Just allow additional baking time.

Mmmm, sounds good. Maybe I’ll have to try this.

Tater Tot Casserole

Tater tots (enough to cover the bottom of your casserole dish)
1 lb Ground Beef; Cooked and Drained
1 large can of Cream of Mushroom Soup
Cheese (You can use American slices or Shredded anything-I use a lot of diff. kinds-mostly Mozz. over the tots then at the end before I bake I add slices of American Cheese that I tear in half and lay on top.)

Mix ground beef with soup and spread over tater tots. Top with cheese. Bake
@ 350 for about 25 minutes. Cook through until tots are cooked. (I usually set my
tots in the dish first before doing anything else this way they are thawing out while I
am cooking the meat.)

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Spray 9 x 13 pan with baking spray.

Line pan with frozen tater tots (I used the onion flavored ones). Cut up one package of hot dogs into small pieces (I quartered each hot dog lengthwise and the sliced) and sprinkle over tater tots. Chop some raw onion (maybe 1 cup or so) and sprinkle over top of hot dogs. Spoon Hormel Hot Chili w/beans over top of onions. I used three 15 oz. cans. Sprinkle shredded cheddar (approx. 1-1/2 cups) over top of chili.
Bake in oven at 450 degrees for about 1/2 hour or until heated thru.

